2015 Japan summer trip (days 3 & 4)

First | Previous | Next | Last


August 11

I woke up around lunchtime as I was up working late the previous day. My friend had already gone off somewhere as I was just about to start the day. Work was kind of quiet at that time and it just so happened that she came back a little after lunch. I told her my intention of getting a 朱印長 (Shuincho) and she decided to get one too and so we went to Sumiyoshi Taisha.

First stop: Sumiyoshi Taisha


This was where I bought my pink Shuincho and got my first stamp. The place wasn’t very crowded. If I had to guess, I’d say there were no more than fifty people at that time.

I think we took a few trains to get here.

Next stop: Dotonbori, Namba
It was already late in the afternoon so I suggested we to go Dotonbori next. We walked around the place for a bit and spent some time at Don Quijote (ドンキ). We ate dinner at Kinryu Ramen, rested for a bit along the river near the famous Glico sign and then went back to Guest House Bear’s Moriguchi.

We hopped on trains to get to Namba.

Last stop: Guest House Bear’s Moriguchi
I can’t recall whether I worked that night or had a decent sleep.

August 12

According to the documentation, I did not go anywhere that day, which probably meant I was working all day until there was no longer any time for some sightseeing. My friend on the other hand, was trying out her newly acquired knowledge regarding train travel in Japan.

The only place I distinctly recall visiting was the nearby supermarket before it closed for the day.

In case I haven’t mentioned it before, supermarkets in Japan sell bentos. These are the ready-to-eat set meals, either fried chicken, sushi, or something else, there are several choices.

At a certain time before the store closes, these are put on sale. Discounts vary per item and sometimes even depending on the time. For example, let’s say a store closes at 11pm. At 10pm, the remaining sushi meals will have 30% discount stickers on them. Then at around 1030pm, the remaining sushi meals will now have 50% discount stickers over the 30% ones.

I have no knowledge of a certain supermarket that has these exact numbers but the point is, if you visit a supermarket before it closes for the day, there is a possibility of getting discounted food items. I mention the word ‘possibility’ because there may also be instances when the food items get sold out even before the discount time.


First | Previous | Next | Last

Leave a comment