2015 Japan summer trip (day 1)

Next | Last

The idea came to me as I was coming down from the high I got from my very first trip to Japan. It was on the first week of May 2014 that I decided the following year I will see the sunrise at the top of Mt. Fuji.

I was at a near-constant high level of excitement that I had actually booked plane tickets around 9 months prior to the planned date. This was three months earlier than when I booked plane tickets for the spring trip.

So I was understandably pissed when something came up at work literally two days before the scheduled departure that would physically prevent me from climbing said mountain.

It was a bummer on two fronts, aside from the year-long preparation going down the drain, I also had a friend tagging along and had for a brief moment considered the option of letting her first experience with Japan be a solitary one.

After I calmed down, I decided to just accept it and make the best of a shitty situation. Since it would be a bigger pain in the ass to cancel my half of everything that was paid for, in the end, I traded the hiking stuff for a laptop and went.

August 9

After we cleared customs at KIX, we bought two passes: Osaka Amazing Pass and Kansai Thru Pass because that was originally the plan. Then we hopped on a train to Shin-imamiya Station and walked to Hotel Diamond. After the usual visit to a nearby convenience store, we called it a day.


Next | Last

Leave a Reply

