2016 recap

FirstPrevious

Let’s start with the one positive thing:

2. travel: climb Mt. Fuji
Only the winter and summer trips were related to this one. The fall trip was just a bonus.

This was an overwhelming success. The winter trip prepared me for the long hike and low temperatures. Although, I have to say, the summit wasn’t as cold as the places I went to during winter.

It was also a blessing that I only experienced mild altitude sickness. Still, I learned my lesson, next time I’ll be bringing some oxygen.

Probably the only… complaint(? not sure if it’s the right word for this) I have is that I wasn’t able to see the sunrise at the summit (I’ll fix that in 2018). Everything else was on point.

Now, let me talk about the recently-concluded fall trip.

I had the trip dates locked down a little over a year in advance. The fact that I failed to notice the dates overlapping with the JLPT exam was my fault. I probably got too excited when I saw the cheap air fares.

Moving on to the ‘meh’ item on the list,

1. study: take N3 test
I was actually going back and forth between taking the test and going on the fall trip way back in August.

At that time, I thought I could still take the test with enough confidence and study time to have a decent chance at passing.

Eventually I decided against it and went through with the fall trip. As a result, I kind of coasted (134 hours of study time debt) throughout the rest of the year because I knew I had another six months to study.

And finally,

3. health: 5 inches less than what was last recorded in 2015
I completely bombed on this one. The waistline played around 39 to 42 inches as I struggled to stick to a working routine. There were even months where I never bothered to get the tape measure.

I got especially fat when trip dates are coming up as I tend to double up on work to wrap up as much as possible before leaving for the trips.

So, for the final tally, 2016 ends with me at 41.5 inches.


FirstPrevious

Leave a Reply

