Hello, my name is Rex

Last October 2015 I changed my mobile number. Since then, I’ve been getting texts from people I don’t know.

Let’s start with this:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-08-09

Seemed random enough, no? But then 11 days later, I got this:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-08-27
It’s pretty obvious the ‘shop’ Anna referred to was a barber shop.

Six days later, this came:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-08-41
You can probably guess by now that my name is Rex and apparently I work at a barber shop.

The weird thing I noticed was that most (2 out of 3 so far) of them always include their names. It’s as if I (Rex) don’t have these people’s numbers in my (Rex) phonebook. Or they probably borrowed someone else’s phone.

Two days later, this came:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-09-16

Now, I’m not 100% sure if the one who sent this knows me as Rex. I just lumped it with the rest because it’s the prevailing trend with regards to the unnamed texts I’m receiving.

To be polite, I replied “merry christmas.”

A little over a month passed when the next one came:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-09-52
Again with the name. I (Rex) have a phonebook, you know.

Here’s another one. Persistent little fellow:
Screenshot_2016-04-12-17-11-08
Apparently these people like signing their texts with their names.

April 23, 2016 update:

This ‘deck’ person is one persistent little bugger. Has s/he ever gone to my (Rex) shop? Has s/he ever asked if I (Rex) received any of his/her texts?
Screenshot_2016-04-25-20-09-33

May 8 & 21, 2016 update:

Dude just cannot get a clue.
Screenshot_2016-05-31-22-51-01

August 18, 2016 update:

I just got a call from the carrier asking if this was the phone number of a certain barber shop (couldn’t make out the establishment’s name the other person on the line mentioned as the conversation was a bit choppy). I obviously said ‘no’, and that it is a personal number. After that, the man thanked me for the information and apologized for the intrusion then hung up.

I guess I won’t be having any more inquiries about my pretend barber shop.

May 21, 2017 update:

Looks like I was mistaken, as I got another text asking about my barber shop.

—–
I’m probably getting these texts because the number I’m currently using had a previous owner (Rex) and he forgot to do the obligatory SMS blast announcing his new number.

I’m pretty sure there’s more coming. I’ll be updating this when I get more.

Lastly, I’d like to thank Rex (and friends) for providing a little bit of entertainment.

Leave a Reply

