Keeping it simple

First | Next | Last


1. study: take the N3 test

Well, a month has passed and I still haven’t gathered study materials for N3. I’ve just been reading up on previous lessons and listening to some old N4 and N5 audios. Yes, the Duolingo streak is still alive at 36 days but its not helping all that much. Plus I sometimes get sidetracked when I switch to the Spanish course. Oh, and to my surprise, I passed N4. Barely, but still passed so, yay!

2. travel: climb Mt. Fuji

There’s a sort of progression to this whole thing. First, there’s the Kyoto trail as the dry run. Second, the 5-month training and adjustments to address the problems encountered during the dry run. And third, the actual climb.

The dry run ended last Saturday and here are some of the findings:

  • The current system of protecting the feet from calluses works.
    Remember: when something feels remotely funny on any part of the feet, fix it immediately.
  • The “what? uphill again?” mentality is quickly replaced by a “there’s no turning back now” sentiment.
  • I now know what it feels like to be cold.
    There was a time during the hike when the temperature dropped to -2 degrees.
  • I still have the stamina to go long distances on foot but slows to a crawl on uphill paths.

3. health: hack away the 5 inches gained last 2015

Hopefully this will just be a by-product of item 2’s second step. As for the actual figure, its 39.5 inches. I’m guessing this was the result of a week-long walk-a-thon.

—–

The CSSPJ thing was a bust. I submitted an application, even followed up regarding the January 19 seminar but did not hear anything from them. Now that that’s cleared up, I can add some more to the list. I won’t be doing that though, since items 1 and 2 are already huge undertakings.


First | Next | Last

Leave a Reply

